TELL CUMBERLAND COUNTY, N.C. NOT TO PASS THE “BREED BAN”

The Cumberland County Animal Control Board is recommending that authorities limit the adoption of dog breeds that one county official described as attack animals.
Dr. John Lauby, Animal Control Director said the Board is suggesting that county residents be banned from adopting Rottweilers, American Staffordshire terriers, pit bulls, chow-chows, Presa Canarios or any mix of those breeds.
County Commissioner Charles Evans, who serves on the Animal Control Board, said the issue is about the safety of residents.
“We’re looking at a list of animals used as attack animals,” Evans said. “It has been suggested that something needs to be done about those.”
Dogs that aren’t adopted are put down.
If these breeds aren’t adopted out, Evans said he wants to know more about what their fate would be.
“I really want to understand what would be done with these types of animals,” Evans said.
They could be turned over to breed-specific rescue groups, Lauby said, but those operating locally are at full capacity. Another option is to try to network nationwide with groups in communities that are looking for dogs to put up for adoption.
The last option is euthanasia, Lauby said.
Animal advocates maintain that it’s not a particular breed of dog that presents a danger,the problem is irresponsible owners who do not properly train these breeds.
Email the Mayor and council to let them know your opinion of the proposed “Breed Ban”.

Mayor Anthony G. Chavonne
mayor@ci.fay.nc.us

Dr. John Lauby
Director of Animal Services
jlauby@co.cumberland.nc.us

Kenneth S. Edge
Chairman
kedge@co.cumberland.nc.us

Marshall Faircloth
Vice Chairman
wmfaircloth@co.cumberland.nc.us

Dr. Jeannette M. Council
jcouncil@co.cumberland.nc.us

Charles Evans
cevans@co.cumberland.nc.us

Jimmy Keefe
jkeefe@co.cumberland.nc.us

Billy R. King
bking@co.cumberland.nc.us

Edward Melvin
emelvin@co.cumberland.nc.us

Advertisements

Comments are closed.