Don’t Chain

I wish someone would tell me
What I’ve done wrong,
Why must I be chained outside and
Left alone so long?
They seemed so glad to have me,
When I came here as a pup,
They promised all the things we’d do,
While I was growing up.
The master said he’d train me,
As a companion and a friend.
The mistress said she’d never fear,
To be alone again.
The children said they’d feed me,
And brush me every day.
They’d play with me and walk me,
If only I could stay.
But the master doesn’t have time,
The mistress says I shed,
She won’t allow me in the house,
Not even to be fed.
The children never walk me;
They’re busy and say “not now”.
I wish that I could please them,
If only I knew how?
With nothing but my love to give,
Will someone please explain?
Why they said they wanted me, then
Tied me to a chain.
Anonymous

Comments are closed.